Three SLFP MPs Fail To Turn Up To Accept Ministerial Portfolios

Asian Mirror reliably learns that three SLFP MPs who were due to be given ministerial portfolios on March 22 did not turn up to accept them.

Monaragala District UPFA MP Sumedha G Jayasena and Kurunegala District UPFA MP Jayarathne Herath are among those who were not present to accept the ministerial portfolios.

Speculation is rife on whether their support to former president Mahinda Rajapaksa was the reason for their absence. Sumedha Jayasena recently told a local media channel that former president Mahinda Rajapaksa’s involvement is essential if Sri Lanka Freedom Party is to win the forthcoming General Election.

Speaking to a local media channel, Jayasena said that the former president is still popular among the people in the villages in her area.

However, Jayasena said that she cannot comment on whether Rajapaksa should become the Prime Ministerial candidate of the SLFP in the next election.

Furthermore, sources told Asian Mirror that SLFP Kurunegala Organizer Jayarathne Herath has made a request to be appointed to a different electorate.

Kurunegala was only one of two electorates in the Kurunegala District which former president Mahinda Rajapaksa failed to win in the 2015 Presidential Election.

Meanwhile, Opposition Leader Nimal Siripala de Silva said on Monday (23) that several more SLFP members will be appointed as ministers in the near future.

© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd