Constitutional Council To Meet Today

The Constitutional Council will meet for the first time today following the formation of the new parliament.

The Council is headed by Speaker Karu Jayasuriya. Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe and Opposition Leader R. Sampanthan are also ex-officio members of the council.

In addition, three appointments for the council were announced yesterday. Accordingly, Minister Patali Champika Ranawaka was appointed as the representative of the President and Minister Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe was appointed the representative of the Prime Ministers. JVP MP Vijitha Herath was appointed as minor party representative.

The council is expected to discuss the appointment of the civil society members and the appointment of the independent commissions.

© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd