Strict Disciplinary Actions Against Thewarapperuma And Ranaweera

The committee report compiled on the clash that was broke out in Parliament yesterday recommends the highest possible disciplinary action against MPs Palitha Thewarapperuma and Prasanna Ranaweera.

The clash was broke out when certain opposition MPs raised objections clashed with government MPs while Cabinet Minister for Regional Development Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka was delivering a statement regarding the decision to replace former President Mahinda Rajapaksa’s military security contingent with police personnel, yesterday.

The Speaker adjourned the Parliament until today because of the incident, ordered a report from the Deputy Chairman of the Committees, and Deputy Speaker.

The report was handed over to Speaker Karu Jayasuriya today at the Parliament.

The report had recommended for highest possible disciplinary action and a decision at the next immediate sitting of Parliament regarding UNP MP Thewarapperuma and UPFA MP Ranaweera who had caused the tense situation to escalate to an exchange of blows.

The report had also stated that MPs including Bandula Gunawardena, Dinesh Gunawardena, and Piyal Nishantha had flagrantly directed allegations at the Speaker during Parliamentary proceedings and had recommended that strict disciplinary action be taken against them for leveling allegations in a manner which was disrespectful to the chair. 

© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd