Court Issues Notice On 04 Opposition MPs For "Assaulting" SLPA Workers!

Colombo Fort Magistrate today issued notice on for UNP Parliamentarians namely Ravi Karunanayake, R. Yogarajan, Nalin Bandara and Ajith P Perera for trespassing into the SLFP affiliated trade union office at the Sri Lanka Ports Authority premises and “assaulting” its members.

The union members had alleged that the UNP Parliamentarians carried out an attack on trade union members affiliated with the ruling party.

The Colombo Fort Magistrate ordered the UNP Parliamentarians to appear before court on October 27.

However, UNP Parliamentarian Ravi Karunanayake told Asian Mirror that it was the UNP MP delegation who were at the receiving end of the attack.

He added that those who attacked the UNP MP delegation at the training school of the Sri Lanka Ports Authority were workers of the SLPA who were affiliated with a SLFP trade union.

“The visit was a surprise one and the henchmen of the government did not have time to ‘import’ goons from outside,” Karunanayake said adding it was actually some staff members of the Sri Lanka Ports Authority who invited them to visit the training school premises and conduct inspection. The staff members who contacted the UNP parliamentarians, according to Karunanayake, were disappointed with developments on the ground.

“First we were warmly welcomed by officials of the Sri Lanka Ports Authority and later we were attacked. It was clear that those who attacked us were acting under the instruction of some parties,” he also added.


The Parliamentarian, who led the UNP MP delegation to the Sri Lanka Ports Authority, said they had received information that resources of the Sri Lanka Ports Authority were being used for propaganda activities targeting the forthcoming presidential election.

© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd