UPFA Confirms 115 MPs Have Already Signed No Confidence Motion Against Amaratunga

Chief Opposition Whip John Seneviratne told Asian Mirror that 115 Parliamentarians of the UPFA have signed the no confidence motion against Public Order and Disaster Management Minister John Amaratunga.

Seneviratne also added that a few more UPFA MPs are yet to sign the no-confidence motion today.

“The motion will be presented to the Speaker when all the signatures are finalized,”  the Chief Opposition Whip told ‘Asian Mirror’ on Saturday.

He also added that several MPs of other political parties too had expressed willingness to support the no confidence motion against Amaratunga.

However, President Maithripala Sirisena, who is the Leader of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party, has not yet expressed his viewpoints on the no-confidence motion against Amaratunga.

Leader of the Opposition Nimal Siripala de Silva told last week that the opposition intended to present a no confidence motion against Amaratunga over his failure to prevent attacks on supporters of the opposition and local government representatives.

Opposition Leader, in a statement to Parliament last week, said that Minister Amaratunga’s conduct in connection with recent incidents which occurred in several local government authorities have proven that the latter has failed in performing his duties.

© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd