No-Confidence Motion Against John Submitted With 114 Signatures: Opposition Still Has Majority

February 07, 2015

Sources from the Opposition Leader's office of Parliament confirmed that the no-confidence motion against Public Order and disaster Management Minister John Amaratunga has been handed over to Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa.

Supporting the move, 114 UPFA MPs have signed the no-confidence motion.

It means the majority of MPs in the House have supported the no-confidence motion.

Chief Opposition Whip John Seneviratnne told Asian Mirror this morning that 115 MPs have signed the no-confidence motion. However, there were only 114 signatures in the final document.

eader of the Opposition Nimal Siripala de Silva told last week that the opposition intended to present a no confidence motion against Amaratunga over his failure to prevent attacks on supporters of the opposition and local government representatives.

Opposition Leader, in a statement to Parliament last week, said that Minister Amaratunga’s conduct in connection with recent incidents which occurred in several local government authorities have proven that the latter has failed in performing his duties.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd