Parliament To Vote On 19th Amendment On April 10

Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake stated that the Parliament will vote on the 19th Amendment on April 10.

Speaking at a press briefing on Thursday (2), Dissanayake said that the National Executive Council took the decision when it met earlier in the day. The Bill will be further changed after considering the recommendations of the Supreme Court, he added.

Dissanayake said that the 19th Amendment was presented to the parliament after a long battle. He pointed out that various political parties and groups which believe in different ideologies, came together to defeat the former government of Mahinda Rajapaksa. The constitutional amendments to reduce the powers of the executive presidency came through this victory, he pointed out.

The JVP leader also stated that the party is unable to agree on several points in the 19th Amendment. Despite this, there are a number of positive measures to strengthen the democracy in the country, Dissanayake added.

© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd