'I Signed Motion Against PM': Anura Yapa (Audio)

Sri Lanka Freedom Party General Secretary Anura Priyadarshana Yapa confirmed that he signed the no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Speaking to Asian Mirror, he made it clear that they signed the motion as MPs and not representing the party. The aim was to remove the minority government and establish a majority government in parliament, he added.

However, Yapa said that he cannot be sure if this objective could be reached before the next election.

The no-confidence motion against the Prime Minister was compiled on several grounds, including his conduct during the Central Bank Treasury Bond issue controversy.

Meanwhile, Mahajana Eksath Peramuna leader Dinesh Gunawardena said in a TV interview last night that the government is using deliberate delaying tactics on no-confidence motions submitted by the opposition. The motion against the Prime Minister will become the fifth such no-confidence motion presented, starting from the motion against Minister John Amaratunga. However, none of the four motions already submitted were debated, he pointed out.

© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd