Electoral System Still Unclear: TNA

Tamil National Alliance MP M.A. Sumanthiran stated that it was too early to comment on the newly approved 20th Amendment since the electoral system is still unclear.
Speaking to Asian Mirror, Sumanthiran said that even though the number of seats have been announced, the exact electoral process could be understood only after the Gazette Notification is released.
The Cabinet approved an electoral system with 237 MPs in Parliament. Accordingly, 145 MPs will be elected from first-past-the-post system, 55 MPs from district representation and 37 from the national list.
However, the new electoral system faced another stumbling block as the UNP Working Committee decided to oppose the decision to increase the number of MPs.
© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd