Weerasena Gamage Sworn in as Member of Parliament


Today, Weerasena Gamage, representing the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP), took the oath as a Member of Parliament. This ceremony, presided over by Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, marked the official entry of Gamage into the parliamentary ranks.

Gamage's appointment follows the recent vacancy left by the passing of SLPP’s Anuradhapura District MP H. Nandasena earlier this month. Nandasena's sudden demise on April 5th due to illness led to the Election Commission appointing Gamage to fill the vacant seat.

Securing a notable 38,242 votes during the 2020 Parliamentary Elections, Gamage stood 9th on the preferential votes list for the Anuradhapura District, making him the natural choice to succeed Nandasena.

The procedural notification of the vacant seat to the Election Commission was made in accordance with Section 64(1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981 by the Acting Secretary General of Parliament.