MR Gives Green Light To Weerawansa's Proposals Ahead Of Crucial Election

President Mahinda Rajapaksa has promised to implement 12 proposals presented by National Freedom Front, led by Wimal Weerawansa.

The NFF earlier claimed that its support to the government would depend on the government's response to the 12 proposals endorsed by the national convention which was held by the Freedom Front. 

The 12 proposals were presented to the President a few months ago and the government appointed a committee to look into Weerawansa's proposals. The committee included Economic Development Minister Basil Rajapaksa and Youth Affairs Minister Dullas Alahapperuma. However, Weerawansa recently said that the committee had not given any feedback to the National Freedom Front over the 12 proposals. 

With the President's promise, the National Freedom Front has decided to support President Mahinda Rajapaksa in the next Presidential Election after talks with the president at Temple Trees yesterday.

Media spokesman of the NFF Mohammed Muzammil said that the President was positive on the 12 point proposal introduced by the party. Rajapaksa has promised that the proposals will be implemented systematically.

The President has also said that he will work together with all constituent parties of the UPFA to meet the challenges faced by the country.

The NFF was represented at the negotiations by its leader Minister Wimal Weerawansa, General Secretary Priyanjith Vitharana, Deputy Minister Weerakumara Dissanayake, Sabaragamuwa Provincial Council Member Deepal Gunasekera and Politburo members Jayantha Samaraweera and Kapila Gamage.

General Secretary of UPFA Minister Susil Premjayanth was also present at the meeting.

The Ceylon Workers’ Congress, another constituent party of the UPFA met also met the president recently and expressed its support. Meanwhile the leftist parties are said to be opposed to the move to hold an early presidential election