Weerawansa Says President Sirisena Turned SLFP Into 'Tail' Of UNP

President Maithripala Sirisena converted the Sri Lanka Freedom Party to the ‘tail’ of the ‘United National Party government’ by giving SLFP MPs ministerial portfolios, National Freedom Front leader Wimal Weerawansa said.

Speaking at a press conference at the NFF headquarters, Weerawansa said that by entering the government, SLFP MPs have betrayed the social forces that supported them.

Maithripala Sirisena was not elected president through the votes of SLFP members, Weerawansa stressed, adding that he was elected by the likes of Ranil Wickremesinghe, R. Sampanthan, Rauff Hakeem, Anura Dissanayake and Champika Ranawaka.

Therefore, Sirisena is in need of forming a government which could not fall due to a no-confidence motion, Weerawansa said.

The SLFP-led UPFA currently holds a simple majority in the parliament.

Meanwhile, at a recent meeting, Mahajana Eksath Peramuna leader Dinesh Gunawardena also slammed the attempts to form a national government saying that people did not vote for the UPFA MPs to help strengthen a UNP government.