Sri Lanka Truly Champions

Ending the 18 year long drought, Sri Lanka won an ICC Championship after the Cricket World Cup in 1996. 

Beating India by  wickets, Sri Lanka won the ICC T20 World Cup in Dhaka, after being runners up in four ICC championships. 

{module LOLC}

Sri Lanka scored 134-4 with 13 balls to spare and Sangakkara scored an unbeaten half century in his last T20 match. Thisara Perera, who was promoted in the batting order, eased pressure on Sangakkara with a couple of sixes. 

India only managed to score 130 in their 20 overs with Virat Kohli scoring a blistering 70. Lasith Malinga and Nuwan Kulasekera, who bowled the last two overs, prevented Indian batsmen from scoring runs freely and that created immense pressure on Indian skipper M.S. Dhoni.

Mahela Jayawardena, who is also retiring from T20 cricket after the T20 World Cup, said the victory belongs to all Sri Lankan cricket fans, who have been waiting for a victory of this scale for over 18 years.