Several MR Supporters Receive Ministerial Portfolios

Forty MPs took oaths as State Ministers and Deputy Ministers today (09) at the Presidential Secretariat.

Accordingly, 19 State Ministers and 21 Deputy Ministers accepted ministerial portfolios in front of President Miathripala Sirisena.

Interestingly, several staunch supporters of former President Mahinda Rajapaksa were also given ministerial portfolios in the national government. They include former western provincial councilor Nimal Lanza, former parliamentarians Sumedha G. Jayasena, Nishantha Muthuhettigama and Arundika Fernando.

Nimal Lanza who was earlier appointed as the organizer of Wattala electorate, was appointed as the Deputy Minister of Tourism Promotion and Christian Affairs while Nishantha Muthuhettigama accepted the portfolio of the Deputy Minister of Ports.

Moreover Sumedha G. Jayasena was given the post of deputy minister of wildlife. Arundika Fernando was sworn-in as the deputy minister of home affairs.

© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd