Joint Opposition Hands Over No-faith Motion Against General Secretary Of Parliament

The Joint Opposition today handed over a no confidence motion against the General Secretary of Parliament Dhammika Dissanayake on his conduct at the recent vote on a supplementary estimate.

The motion was signed by 32 MPs of the Joint Opposition.

A supplementary Appropriation Bill for Rs 55 million for the 2016 fiscal year moved by the Government was passed in Parliament on May 5 with a majority of just 2 votes. It was announced that 33 MPs voted for it while 31 opposed. However the opposition insisted that the votes were not counted correctly.

© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd