Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe refuses to take oaths as State Minister

SLPP Colombo District MP Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe refused to take oaths yesterday as he was not satisfied with the State Minsitry given to him, highly placed government sources said.

Rajapakshe was expected to take oaths yesterday as the state minister overlooking higher education reforms.

Due to Rajapakshe's refusal to take oaths as a state minister, only 39 ministers were sworn in at the Magul Maduwa in Kandy yesterday.

Sources close to Rajapakshe said the former Minister, who has served in key Cabinet positions before, was expecting a Cabinet postfolio.

Rajapakshe obtained fourth highest preferential votes from the Colombo district contesting on the SLPP ticket.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd