Dissanayake Resigns As Ampara SLFP Chief Organizer

Former Eastern Provincial Council Minister Wimalaweera Dissanayake said on Sunday (12) that he decided to step down as Sri Lanka Freedom Party Chief Organizer in Ampara.

Speaking at a press conference in Ampara, he said that he made this decision in protest over the removal of four MPs from the SLFP Central Committee.

President Maithripala Sirisena on Saturday ordered the removal of Bandula Gunawardena, T.B Ekanayake, S.M. Chandrasena and Salinda Dissanayake from SLFP Central Committee.

The four MPs were among those who attended the rally in support of former Mahinda Rajapaksa on March 26 in Ratnapura, despite a banning oreder from SLFP Central Committee.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd