Five Members Appointed To SLFP Central Committee

Sri Lanka Freedom Party decided to appoint five members to the Central Committee, local media reports said on Monday.

Accordingly, Arjuna Ranatunga, Nandimithra Ekanayake, Ediriweera Weerawardena, Hirunika Premachandra and Prasanna Solangaarachchi have been appointed to the CC.

This move can be seen as a step by President Maithripala Sirisena to consolidate his position within the SLFP.

The move comes soon after the removal of five SLFP Central Committee members who are known to be supporters of former president Mahinda Rajapaksa.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd