Petition Against Bribery Commission Handed Over; Parliament Adjourned

A petition against the Director General of the Commission to Investigate Allegations of Bribery or Corruption Dilrukshi Dias Wickremasinghe was handed over to the Speaker by a group of MPs a short while ago.

The petition was signed by 113 MPs, which represents a majority in parliament.

MP Bandula Gunawardena argued that the Bribery Commission had abused its powers by summoning former president Mahinda Rajapaksa. The Commission summoned Rajapaksa over the appointment of Tissa Attanayake as a Cabinet Minister in December 2014.

The UPFA MPs who protested in parliament on Monday stayed overnight at the parliamentary chamber. They launched a protest once again this morning. The parliament was adjourned for 15 minutes for a special party leaders' meeting following the protest.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd